Skip to content

What your state pays you

A concession card is issued by the Commonwealth. Most of what it saves you is paid by your state, under a different name in each one, and none of it arrives unless you ask.

This is the part that usually gets left as “check your state’s website”. Eight jurisdictions, eight agencies, and eight different names for a discount on the same electricity bill. Below is each one: where to start, what it is called there, and what it is worth.

Every figure was read from the agency that pays it on 23 September 2026, and the sentence it came from is printed underneath it. Where an agency’s site refuses an automated read we name the scheme and link it, but state no figure. That is the case in two of the eight. We publish figures for 6.

Nothing here is claimed through us and none of it earns us anything. Every link goes to the government page that pays it. Eligibility is always the agency’s decision, not ours.

$100Vehicle registration concessionoff private vehicle registration for eligible cardholders, and $80 off a motorcycle.Registration discount: $100 off private vehicle registration and $80 off for motorcycles
$50Toll reliefthe weekly toll cap, lowered from $60. Above it, the excess comes back.Toll relief: weekly toll cap lowered from $60 to $50
Not statedEnergy rebatesthe Low Income Household Rebate, Family Energy Rebate and Seniors Energy Rebate are applied by your retailer, not paid to you. Amounts are set each financial year.

Read from Service NSW, Concessions, rebates and assistance, 23 September 2026.

$650Utility Relief Grantper utility type over two years, paid straight to the retailer on an overdue bill. A household on a single energy source can reach $1,300. Renters qualify as well as owners.You can receive a maximum of $650 on each utility type in a two-year period (or $1,300 for households with a single source of energy (for example, electricity only).
Not statedConcessions and benefitsenergy, water, rates, health, education and transport concessions sit behind the one page, keyed to your card.

Read from Victorian Department of Families, Fairness and Housing, Utility relief grant scheme, 23 September 2026.

Queensland

QLD

Concessions

$386.34Electricity Rebatea year, credited to your bill each quarter, for pensioners, seniors, veterans, low-income households and asylum seekers.can receive $386.34* per year.
$92.12Reticulated Natural Gas Rebatea year, for the same cardholders, if your home is on reticulated natural gas.The Reticulated Natural Gas Rebate provides $92.12* per year

Read from Queensland Government, Energy rebates and concessions fact sheet, 23 September 2026.

$377.14Energy Assistance Paymenta year from 1 July 2026, paid into your bank account rather than credited to a bill.Energy Assistant Payment $377.14
$396.56Dependent Child Rebatefor one child, plus $103.91 for each additional child, on top of the Energy Assistance Payment.Dependent Child Rebate $396.56 for one child / $103.91 for each additional child
$78.98Air Conditioning Rebatefor eligible households in the hottest parts of the state.Air Conditioning Rebate $78.98

Read from RevenueWA, Energy Concession Extension Scheme fact sheet, 1 July 2026, 23 September 2026.

Not statedAnnual electricity concessiona daily discount on your electricity bill, set as a cents-per-day rate and applied by your retailer once you tell them you hold a card.

This agency's site blocks automated reads, so we have named the scheme without stating a figure. Check the amount on their page.

Northern Territory

NT

NT Concession Scheme

Electricity concessions

Phone 1800 777 704

Not statedNT Concession Schemeone membership covering electricity, water, sewerage, council rates, motor vehicle registration and more. You join the scheme first, then the concessions follow.

This agency's site blocks automated reads, so we have named the scheme without stating a figure. Check the amount on their page.

Before any of this applies to you

Almost everything above is keyed to a concession card, and the card most often missed is the Low Income Health Care Card: it is income-tested rather than payment-tested, so people in work can hold one. It is assessed on your income over the eight weeks before you claim, not your annual salary.

Holding the card is the easy part. Nothing above is applied automatically: your energy retailer, your water provider and your council each have to be told.

Did this help?

One click. No account, no email, and nothing about you is stored — just the answer.

Tell us what was missing, wrong, or worked